alumní association



Elizabeth Estes, JD President, Marquette University Law Alumni Association

Fellow Alumni:

The Most Reverend Desmond Mpilo Tutu, Archbishop Emeritus of Cape Town, South Africa, reminded us during his remarks on campus that each one of us has an indispensable contribution to make in this world. In our humble corner of the earth, as part of a commitment to the Marquette University Law Alumni Association, board members have been busy making the following indispensable contributions:

Alumni Relations Committee

Chair Kate McGrane-Sargent, Julie Darnieder, James Maloney and I worked with law students and alumni to have the board co-host the Public Interest Law Society's 10th Annual Auction in February 2003. It was named this year in memory of the late Dean Howard Eisenberg for his remarkable contributions to the Law School and to the legal profession. This special event, attended by almost 300 people, also recognized the visionary attorneys who founded PILS while attending Marquette Law School and raised more than \$20,000 to support pro bono internships. Michael Francis helped organize the first reception for graduates of the part-time program, also held in February. In the past, this committee has hosted the Mardi Gras parties and the martini reception/theatrical performance events. Please keep the committee informed of

events that interest you. Awards Committee

Chaired by Past President Julie Darnieder, this committee, which includes Larry Brueggeman, the Hon. Clare Fiorenza, Catherine LeFleur, Dr. R.L. McNeely, Paul Scoptur, George Steil and Suzanne Strater, selects from the nominations submitted by alumni to grant the annual Law Alumni Awards. The recipients for the April 24, 2003, program are Richard McDermott, Andrew Reneau and Christine Wiseman. The Sports Law Alum of the year, selected by the Sports Law Alumni Association, is Paul Anderson. This event is complimentary to alumni.

Communications Committee

Chair Mark Thompson, President-Elect, and members Catherine LeFleur, Ray Manista, Jim Murray, Paul Scoptur and Roberta Steiner developed the new internet home page for law alumni. Please visit! This committee also assists in producing ideas for the Law School Magazine, which currently publishes two issues per year.

Diversity Committee

Hon. Carl Ashley, Chair, and members Genyne Edwards, Dr. R. L. McNeely and I worked to support the Law School's efforts at recruiting a diverse student population, cooperating with the Admissions Office, alumni, various bar associations and other organizations. The committee also supports the Law School's faculty-led diversity efforts, chaired by Professor Phoebe Weaver Williams.

Fall CLE Committee

Lee Riordan, Chair, and John DeStefanis organized the Fall CLE Program, and worked to secure the participation of the presenters. The Gift & Estate program in November 2002 was successful, and the committee invites you to submit program ideas.

Nominations Committee

Lee Anne Conta, Gene Duffy, Dave Jorling, Mike Malone and Ramiro Manalich review recommendations and recruit candidates for election as members of the board.

In addition to serving on board committees, the following alumni have been involved in special efforts involving the Law School and University:

Dean Search Committee

Genyne Edwards served as an appointee to the Law School's Dean Search Committee, Chaired by Professor John Kircher, in the nationwide search for a successor dean.

National Board Representative

Gene Duffy has committed to represent the Law School Alumni on the National Board of the Marquette University Alumni Association, which has representatives from all of the schools and colleges within the University. Special Commemoration of Dean Eisenberg

Ray Manista led this year's successful effort to obtain 100 percent participation by the Law Alumni Association Board in making a donation to the Howard and Phyllis Eisenberg Fund. The board hopes that all Marquette Law Alumni will honor the spirit of pro bono service by making donations of time or resources to an organization of personal significance.

You should continue to check the Law School and Law Alumni home pages (see URL below) on the Internet to keep abreast of various events, including reunion activities, lectures and other special events. We look forward to seeing you!

Elizabeth Estes, '94

President, Marquette University Law Alumni Association Board Marquette Law Alumni Association Board

President Elizabeth Estes Elizabeth.Estes@courts.state.wi.us

Vice President President Elect Mark L. Thomsen mthomsen@cannon-dunphy.com

Immediate Past President Julie J. Darnieder julie.darnieder@dwdglaw.com

National Board Representative Eugene O. Duffy gene.duffy@wilaw.com

Student Representative Erin Grall (L'03)

Board Members

Hon. Carl Ashley (L'83) Larry B. Brueggeman (L'69) William Burrrington (L'87) Lee Anne N. Conta (L'94) John L. DeStefanis (L'75) Genyne Edwards (L'00) Hon. Clare L. Fiorenza (L'83) Michael Francis (L'01) David L. Jorling (L'71) Catherine LaFleur (L'88) Michael P. Malone (L'73) James P. Maloney (L'74) Ramiro Manalich (L'84) Raymond Manista (L'90) Kate McGrane-Sargent (L'85) R.L. McNeely (L'94) James T. Murray (L'74) Lee A. Riordan (L'79) Paul Scoptur (L'78) George K. Steil, Jr. (L'74) Roberta Steiner (L'87) Suzanne Strater (L'94)

www.law.mu.edu/alumni/index.html