ALUMNI | ASSOCIATION

near Fellow Alumni,

I am very honored to serve as the president of the Marquette University Law Alumni Association, especially during this exciting time in the school's history.

We're at a turning point this year: Our long-awaited goal of building a new school has moved to its final planning stages. In many ways, this is happening more quickly than many of us would have imagined.

We owe enormous gratitude to Ray and Kay Eckstein, whose \$51 million donation has moved us so far, and to Joseph Zilber, whose \$30 million donation not only adds to this building fund but will also provide tuition scholarships to many future generations of Marquette law students.

As I look back at my time at Marquette, both as an undergraduate and law school student, I see what a lifechanging experience those years were for me. I am so pleased that many others will have a similar opportunity to earn a Marquette law degree—with the added benefit of studying in a new state-of-the-art facility.

I am equally pleased for Marquette University, the metro Milwaukee area, and the entire Wisconsin legal community. We will all benefit from the prestige that will accompany this new law school building as well as the insight and leadership that will come from those who receive their legal education at Marquette Law School.

While only a select few are able to donate millions to our alma mater, we can all do our part to give back to the school that has been such an important springboard in our lives. For many of us, one of the best ways to give back is by maintaining or renewing our ties with Marquette Law School.

You have an excellent opportunity to do so at the upcoming annual Law Alumni Awards reception, which will be held April 24, 2008. Please join us as we recognize Greg Conway, L'70, as the Law School Alumnus of the Year: Ralph Huiras, L'41,



who will receive the Law School Lifetime Achievement Award; Raeshann D. Canady, L'04, who will receive the Law School Howard B. Eisenberg Service Award; and James Gray, L'90, who will be honored as the Sports Law Alumnus of the Year.

Finally, I would like to add that it has been an honor to work with Dean Kearney and my fellow board members. I also want to thank Genyne Edwards, last year's alumni association president, and all the outgoing board members. I've truly enjoyed my time with you as well as our many stimulating and inspiring discussions.

M. JOSEPH DONALD, L'87 President, Marquette University Law Alumni Association

STAY CONNECTED . . . VISIT: HTTP://LAW.MARQUETTE.EDU