Catherine La Fleur

Adjunct Professor of Law


Ms. La Fleur specializes in civil litigation, family law and mediation.  She is a Board Certified Civil Trial Specialist by the National Board of Trail Advocacy. Ms. La Fleur has been an adjunct professor of law at Marquette for over the past seventeen years.  She is a current member of NAMWOLF, the National Association of Minority and Women-Owned Law Firms. She was the Wisconsin Bar’s Chair of the Litigation Board, served two terms on the Bar’s Board of Governors, and was an elected member of Wisconsin Judicial Council for six years. In 2014, Ms. La Fleur participated in the Joint Legislative Council’s Study Committee on the Transfer of Structured Settlements. She completed two three-year terms on the Special Preliminary Review Committee of the Office of Lawyer Regulation and was formerly a member of the District Committee in Milwaukee. In 2016, she was appointed by Justice Roggensack to a committee formed to study the Office of Lawyer Regulation. Ms. La Fleur was inducted into the Wisconsin Law Foundation. She is a supporting member of the Collaborative Family Law Council of Wisconsin.  For the Board of Bar Examiners, she has volunteered as a bar exam grader for many years. Ms. La Fleur is a volunteer fee arbitrator for both the State and Milwaukee Bar Associations. Her practice involves a substantial amount of appellate work, having argued before Districts I and II Courts of Appeal.  She has tried numerous jury trials throughout Wisconsin involving personal injury, product liability, fire, eminent domain, divorce, abuse of process, and real estate misrepresentation.  She served on the board of Journey House for 17 years and is the immediate past President of the National Board for the Marquette University National Alumni Association. She was also on the Marquette Law School’s Alumni Board and served as its president.  She is in the 4th year as the Vice-President of Administration for Professional Dimensions. She is an appointed Court Commissioner. She graduated from Marquette University Law School in 1988.