NAAC Teams Shine in Philadelphia

Twenty-three teams from across the country arrived in Philadelphia at the United States District Court for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania on February 16, all prepared to present oral arguments in the National Appellate Advocacy Competition regional. Two of those teams were from Marquette University Law School, and they shone.

Emily Ward and Kyle Elderkin at the National Appellate Advocacy Competition in Philadelphia.

First, 3L team Kyle (Kip) Elderkin, Emily Ward, and Jessica Zimpfer. Unfortunately, a couple of days before the competition, Zimpfer became ill and was unable to travel. The loss of able advocate Zimpfer meant that Ward had only a couple of days to prepare to argue both sides of their issue. Even so, Ward and Elderkin advanced to the regional semifinals, but lost in that round. Both received perfect oral advocacy scores from one of the judges in an earlier round.

Andrew Holzmann, Abigail Kincheloe, and J.P. Curran at the National Appellate Advocacy Competition in Philadelphia.

Second, 3L team J.P. Curran, Andrew Holzmann, and Abigail Kincheloe. These three argued their way into the regional finals round—one win away from advancing to the national competition—but did not prevail. However, their brief tied for fourth best in the region, and Andy Holzmann was named eighth best oralist in the region.

Congratulations to each team member for their outstanding representation of Marquette Law. And our deepest gratitude goes to Attorneys Julie Leary (L’20), Jay McDivitt (L’21), Ben Edelstein (L’22), and Kyle Frank (L’22), who devoted many hours to coaching the teams. Thank you, too, to the many guest judges: Xavier Jenkins (L’21), Rebeca Lopez (L’12), Dan Murphy (L’16), Jacob Rozema (L’20), Zach Willenbrink (L’11), and Adam Woodside (L’18).

Continue ReadingNAAC Teams Shine in Philadelphia

Congratulations to the 2023 Jenkins Honors Moot Court Competitors

Congratulations to the 2023 Jenkins Honors Moot Court Competitors:

Alexis Bauer
Samantha Dorning
Andrew Flood
Dominique Fortune
Emily Geiser
Isabel Gonzales
Lauren Hudon
Ciara Hudson
Alexandra Johns
Markus Johnson
Emily Juneau
Morgan Kaplan
Jori LaRosa
Kayleigh Lemery
John Letsch
Cody Linday
Jacob Lloyd
Isaiahs Luna
Elliott Manual
Connor Mathias
Angela Medcalf
Derik Rush
Mikela Ryan
Emily Smith

The Jenkins Honors Moot Court Competition is an appellate moot court competition for Marquette law students. Students are invited to participate based on their performance in the Appellate Writing and Advocacy course at the Law School.

Students will begin writing their appellate briefs in January with oral arguments commencing later this spring. The competition includes preliminary oral argument rounds and a quarterfinal, semifinal, and final round.

The Jenkins competitors are fortunate to argue before distinguished members of the bench and bar from Wisconsin and beyond. The competition is named after James G. Jenkins, the first Marquette Law School dean.

Continue ReadingCongratulations to the 2023 Jenkins Honors Moot Court Competitors

Marquette Teams Make Successful Showing at NMCC Regionals

Marquette University Law School hosted the Region VIII round of the 73th annual National Moot Court Competition on November 19-20, 2022. Both Marquette teams made successful showings.

four people standing in front of a fireplace, all of them wearing business suits. On the left is a man in a blue suit and red tie. Next to him is a women in a black skirt suit, with her dark hair pulled back. Next to her is a short woman in a navy blue pantsuit with her black hair pulled back. Next to her is a blonde woman in a navy blue pantsuit. All of them are smiling big smiles.
(from left to right) Travis Goeden, Ruth Nord-Pekar, Fefe Jaber, and Nicole Jennings.

Team members Travis Goeden and Ruth Nord-Pekar advanced to the semifinal round before being eliminated after losing by less than three-tenths of a point. Professor Melissa Love Koenig advised the team, which was coached by attorneys Kieran O’Day (L’20) and Evan Thomson.

Fefe Jaber and Nicole Jennings advanced to the quarterfinals before being eliminated after losing a close round to the other Marquette team. Professor Lisa Mazzie advised the team, and attorneys Alicia Bernards (L’22), Lauren Brasington (L’22), Carsyn Bushman (L’22), Chal Little (L’16), Haley Wentz (L’20), and Christopher Vandeventer (L’22) coached the team.

Continue ReadingMarquette Teams Make Successful Showing at NMCC Regionals