Results of the Jenkins Honors Moot Court Competition Final Round

Posted on Categories Appellate Advocacy, Legal Practice, Legal Writing, Marquette Law School, Public

Congratulations to the winners of the 2020 Jenkins Honors Moot Court Competition, Jay McDivitt and Mathias Rekowski. Congratulations also go to finalists Michelle Knapp and Wynetta McIntosh. A video of the final round is available here.

This year, Jay McDivitt won the Jenkins Competition’s Ramon A. Klitzke Prize for Best Oralist, and he and teammate Mathias Rekowski won the Franz C. Eschweiler Prize for Best Brief. Kelley Roach and Ashley Rossman were awarded second-place brief, and Xavier Jenkins and Wynetta McIntosh won third place in the briefing scores among the twelve teams in the competition.

This year, the competition oral arguments were held virtually. The competitors demonstrated flexibility and adaptability to arguing in the new format. We appreciate the participation of Judge Michael Brennan (Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals), Judge Timothy Dugan (Wisconsin Court of Appeals, District 1), and Judge Beth Hanan (U.S. Bankruptcy Court, E.D. Wisconsin) in judging the final round. A number of attorneys, both local and from other parts of the country, judged the virtual preliminary rounds in September.  We are grateful for their time and enthusiasm for the competition.

Many thanks to the judges and competitors for their effort in all the rounds of competition, as well as to the moot court executive board and Law School administration and staff for their work in putting on the event virtually. Special thanks to Dean Kearney for his support of the competition and to Professor Lisa Mazzie for her work in transitioning the competition to an online format.

Students are selected to participate in the competition based on their success in the fall Appellate Writing and Advocacy class at the Law School.

Join the Conversation

We reserve the right not to publish comments based on such concerns as redundancy, incivility, untimeliness, poor writing, etc. All comments must include the first and last name of the author in the NAME field and a valid e-mail address.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Marquette University Law School - Contact Us
Marquette University Law School, P.O. Box 1881, Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53201 (414) 288-7090
Street Address: Marquette University Law School, 1215 W. Michigan St., Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53233

About the Blog | Comments Policy

The opinions expressed here are those of the individual authors and do not represent the views of Marquette University or its Law School.