Jenkins Honors Moot Court Competitors Advance to Quarterfinals

Congratulations to the students in the Jenkins Honors Moot Court Competition who have moved on to the quarterfinal round of the competition. The students will be competing on Saturday, April 6 to determine which teams will be advancing to the semifinal round on Sunday, April 7.

The following teams will be competing in the quarterfinals:

Josephine Napolski & Sydney Wilcox
Deona Cathey & John Caucutt
Abby Nilsson & Mackenzie Retzlaff
Catherine Alles & Joseph Schimp
Danny Levandoski & Rodrigo Villalobos
Stephanie Dyer & Jay Rohwer
Andrew Madden & Josh Petersen
John Bolden & Dan Underwood

Congratulations to all the participants in the competition. We also very much appreciate the alumni and other attorneys who volunteer to grade briefs and serve as judges in the preliminary rounds. We appreciate their time and assistance every year.

The final round of the Jenkins competition will take place on Wednesday, April 10 at 6 PM.

We’re honored to welcome the following distinguished jurists who will judge the final round:

  • Hon. John K. Bush, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit
  • Hon. J.P. Stadtmueller (L’67), U.S. District Court for the Eastern District of Wisconsin
  • Hon. Maria Lazar, Wisconsin Court of Appeals

The final competition will be held in the Lubar Center and is open to the public. A light dinner for registered guests will be available in the Zilber Forum from 5 to 5:45 PM. You can register for the final competition here.

Continue ReadingJenkins Honors Moot Court Competitors Advance to Quarterfinals

Law School Moot Court Season Kicks Off with A Strong Showing in Atlanta

Derik Rush, 3L, and Danny Veselik, 3L, kicked off the 2023-24 moot court competition season with a strong showing at the Emory University Law School’s Civil Rights and Liberties Moot Court Competition in Atlanta.

Rush and Veselik argued in three preliminary rounds before advancing to the octofinals, where they were eliminated by a team that moved onto the semifinal round.

Even though they did not advance, they received some high scores from judges for their oral advocacy, and Veselik withstood rapid fire questioning from judges in more than one round.

The team was coached by Attorneys Julie A. Leary (L’20), Theresa Correa McMichan (L’23), and Bailey Groh Rasmussen (L’23). Professor Lisa Mazzie served as advisor and coach.

Rush reflected, “It’s crazy to think a year ago Danny and I were about to turn in our first appellate brief. This Competition was a challenging but rewarding experience, and I am grateful for our coaches who helped us become better advocates.” Congratulations to Rush and Veselik on their success!

Continue ReadingLaw School Moot Court Season Kicks Off with A Strong Showing in Atlanta