Charles W. Mentkowski Sports Law Alumnus of the Year Award

2019 Winner Aaron Hernandez

Created in 2002, the Awards Committee of the National Sports Law Institute's Sports Law Alumni Association presents this award to the alum who demonstrates the following qualities; dedication to the sports law program at Marquette University Law School while a student at Marquette, contributions to the Sports Law Alumni Association, contributions to the field of sports law in general, and support of the NSLI and Sports Law Program after their time as a student in the law school. Past recipients of this award include:

2019: Aaron Hernandez (L'13), Assistant Director of Enforcement (Football), NCAA, Indianapolis, IN

2018: Jessica Kumke (L'08), Associate Athletic Director – Compliance and Enrollment Services at the University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI

2017: Susan Allen (L'06), Partner, Stafford Rosenbaum LLP, Milwaukee, WI.

2016: Brent Moberg (L'04), Director of Compliance, University of Notre Dame, South Bend, IN

2015: Nyea Sturman (L'03), General Counsel, Orlando Magic, Orlando, FL

2014: Matt Banker (L'01), Associate Athletic Director/Compliance, University of Louisville, Louisville, KYAssociate Athletic Director/Compliance

2013: Eryn Doherty (L'00), Assistant General Counsel/Executive Director, Labor Relations, Sony Pictures Entertainment, Culver City, CA

2012: Ante Udovicic (L'98), Athletics, Activities & Recreation Coordinator, South Milwaukee High School, South Milwaukee, Wisconsin.

2011: Craig Pintens (L'01), Senior Associate Athletic Director/Marketing & Public Relations, University of Oregon, Eugene, Oregon.

2010: Mike Sneathern (L'02), Associate Counsel, Milwaukee Bucks, Milwaukee, Wisconsin.

2009: Kristi Schoepfer (L'01), Assistant Professor, Sport Management, Winthrop University, Rock Hill, South Carolina.

2008: James Gray (L'90), partner, Pierski & Gray, Milwaukee, Wisconsin, and Assistant Professor, Ithaca College, Ithaca, New York.

2007: Martin Greenberg (L'73), partner, Greenberg & Hoeschen, LLP, Milwaukee, Wisconsin.

2006: Shawn Eichorst (L'95), Senior Associate Athletic Director, University of Wisconsin - Madison, Madison, Wisconsin.

2005: Kathryn Statz (L'00), Associate Athletic Director for Varsity Sports, DePaul University, Chicago, Illinois.

2004: Greg Heller (L'96), Senior Counsel, Turner Broadcasting System, Atlanta, Georgia.

2003: Paul Anderson (L'95), Associate Director, National Sports Law Institute of Marquette University Law School, Milwaukee, Wisconsin.

2002: Bill Miller (L'96), Executive Vice President/Professional Sports, The Leib Group, LLC, Mequon, Wisconsin.