Master of the Game Award

Picture of awards recepient

The Master of the Game Award honors an individual who has made significant contributions to the sports industry and who exemplifies the highest level of professionalism in his or her field. Past recipients of the award are:

2019: Frank DeGuire, Dean Emeritus, Marquette University Law School.

2016: Val Ackerman, BIG EAST Commissioner

2014: Martin J. Greenberg, founder, National Sports Law Institute.

2012: David Howman, Director General, World Anti-Doping Agency, Montreal, Quebec, Canada.

2009: The family of Joe and Bernice Tierney.

2007: Michael Conley, Executive Director, World Sport Chicago, and CEO, MAC Management Group, Chicago, Illinois.

2004: Dr. Cedric Dempsey, former Executive Director, National Collegiate Athletic Association.

2003: Donna de Varona, women's rights advocate and dual Olympic Gold Medalist 1964.

2001: Tommy G. Thompson, Secretary of Health and Human Services and former Governor of the State of Wisconsin.

2000: Allan H. "Bud" Selig, Commissioner of Major League Baseball.

1997: Bob Harlan, President of the Green Bay Packers.

1995: Hank Aaron, MLB Hall of Fame member and executive with the Atlanta Braves.

1994: Bart Starr, NFL Hall of Fame member and former Green Bay Packer.

1992: Al McGuire, former head men's basketball coach at Marquette University

Return to the National Sports Law Institute